Wednesday, September 10, 2008

"In The Shadow Of Lions" Book Review and Giveaway!


This week, the

Christian Fiction Blog Alliance

is introducing

In The Shadow Of Lions

David C. Cook; 1 edition (September 2008)

by

Ginger Garrett



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Ginger Garrett is the critically acclaimed author of Chosen: The Lost Diaries of Queen Esther, which was recognized as one of the top five novels of 2006 by the ECPA, and Dark Hour. An expert in ancient women's history, Ginger creates novels and nonfiction resources that explore the lives of historical women.

Her newest release is Beauty Secrets of the Bible, (September 11, Thomas Nelson) based on the historical research that began in her work on Chosen. The book explores the connections between beauty and spirituality, offering women both historical insights and scientific proofs that reveal powerful, natural beauty secrets.

A frequent radio guest on stations across the country, including NPR and Billy Graham's The Hour of Decision, Ginger is also a popular television guest. Her appearances include Harvest Television, Friends & Neighbors, and Babbie's House. Ginger frequently serves as a co-host on the inspirational cable program Deeper Living.

In 2007, Ginger was nominated for the Georgia Author of the Year Award for her novel Dark Hour. When she's not writing, you may spy Ginger hunting for vintage jewelry at thrift stores, running (slowly) in 5k and 10k races, or just trying to chase down one of her errant sheepdogs. A native Texan, she now resides in Georgia with her husband and three children.


ABOUT THE BOOK



"I am the first writer, The Scribe. My books lie open before the Throne, and someday will be the only witness of your people and their time in this world."

So begins the narration of one such angel in this sweeping historical tale set during the reign of England's Henry VIII. It is the story of two women, their guardian angels, and a mysterious, subversive book ... a book that outrages some, inspires others, and launches the Protestant Reformation.

The devout Anne Boleyn catches the eye of a powerful king and uses her influence to champion an English translation of the Bible. Meanwhile, Rose, a broken, suicidal woman of the streets, is moved to seek God when she witnesses Thomas More's public displays of Christian charity, ignorant of his secret life spent eradicating the Bible, persecuting anyone who dares read it.

Historic figures come alive in this thrilling story of heroes and villains, saints and sinners, angels and mortals ... and the sacred book that will inspire you anew. Fans of Francine Rivers and Karen Kingsbury will love Ginger's intriguing combination of rich character development, artful settings, and inspiring historical insights.

If you would like to read an excerpt from In The Shadow Of Lions, go HERE

MY REVIEW:
I was looking forward to this book, the Anne Boylen story from a different perspective. I believe that Ginger did her homework and there is much truth here along with, of course, the fiction of conversations and such. I found the two stories, Rose and Anne, interesting separately and then they weave together as well. The characters are intriguing in the manner of you don't really want to like some of them, but you do. The time period and setting are described well and even some of the quirks of the time are brought out and explained beautifully. I especially like how when Rose goes from being someone from the streets to being a companion to one of the elite and how quickly she turns her nose down at them when it could've just as easily been her.
There were a few parts that I just didn't quite get though. The whole scribe showing the story to the author, and the author's relationship with David were side stories that I didn't quite understand. But the overall story was well done and I really enjoyed seeing a new side to this old story. Especially the little twist about the Hutchin's book at the end...

If you would like to win a copy of this book then leave a comment with your email address and I will enter you in the drawing - good luck!

12 comments:

sarahw said...

I love historical books and this sounds like a great one. please enter my name in the draw.
thanks,
sarahwoll at hotmail dot com

traveler said...

Fascinating historical novel which appeals to me greatly. Thanks for this interesting giveaway.
elliotbencan(at)hotmail(dot)com

Theresa N. said...

I'd like to read this book, I enjoy historical novels.
Theresa N
weceno(at)yahoo(dot)com

windycindy said...

Hello, The time period of King Henry
VIII is such an interesting one. The cover of this book is lovely. History has always been an interest of mine. Please enter me in your delightful book drawing. Many thanks, Cindi
jchoppes[at]hotmail[dot]com

Lia said...

I saw this one and I know I HAVE to read it. I MUST READ IT!!! Historical novels are one of my faves, so enter me pleeeeease!


liatheddrfreak (at) gmail (dot) com

Lora Lease said...

Please enter me in the drawing. :)
asyouwiiiiish@gmail.com

Brenda said...

I'd like to be entered, please. One less book on my wishlist always sounds nice. I think you already know how to find me at PBS. :)

ForstRose said...

Please enter me.

Melissa
forest_rose[at]yahoo[dot]com

lovedandamazed said...

Hmmm... I thought *for sure* I had already entered this giveaway and was just checking it out again to see if you've picked a winner. Now I don't see my name! Weird. I'm glad I checked. :-)

Here's my entry!
author_erin(at)lycos(dot)com

Cheryl said...

I would love a chance to win a copy of this book. Please enter me in the contest. My email address is shryackmom[@]charter[.]net

Katie said...

please enter me too! her beauty secrets book is awesome...
thanks-
kts3boys(at)aol(dot)com

Janna said...

And the winner is...

lovedandamazed!

Congratulations!